We use own and third party cookies to improve our services. You can change the settings or get more information Cookies Policy. If you continue to browse, consider accepting its use.




The five participants classes in the Trophy Conde de Godó are already competing in the waters of Barcelona, to join in the day the numerous fleets of ORC and J-80

65 boats in three different race courses, the best of international sailing together with more amateur units, fight for the Conde de Godo Sailing Trophy. Yesterday three categories began competing (Wally, TP52 and Soto 40) and today the classes ORC and J-80 have joined them. After three races sailed on Friday the TP52 class has already had a change of leaders, and is now is led by Alberto Roemmers’ AZZURRA, who can’t allow getting distracted against the attack of an irregular QUANTUM RACING skippered by Ed Baird. Swedish boat RAN closes a podium in which from first to third place there is only a 3 points difference.

Amongst the SOTO 40, Herrik Brandis and Christian Najel’s EARLY BIRD commands a compact fleet in which the Portuguese Bigamist, owned by Pedro Mendoça, stand out going from fourth to second place on the overall podium. Meanwhile the Wally territory is still dominated by Mike Atkinson’s OPEN SEASON.

The J-80 class was flying today, and the podium was taken over by Carlos Martinez’s ZHIK / NOVASAIL, Pablo Benjumeda’s PUERTO SHERRY and Javier Scherk’s GUNTER. In ORC Class 1 the leader is German Christian Plump’s NOVA ELENA, while in Class 2 it was Javier Banderas’ XSPAIN and in Class 3 Miquel Banus’ FANYTAS.

TP52: GLADIATOR goes sailing ready for battle
The TP52 class has proved that no one can get distracted in this fleet. The Italian-Argentinean boat AZZURRA, British GLADIATOR and Swedish team RAN swapped top places in the first race of the day. In a race filled with excitement Niklas Zennstrom’s team managed to snatch the victory to Guillermo Parada in the last 100 meters to the finish line, under the watchful eye of Tom Wilson’s British team.

The second race, had the TP52 class sailing in 20 knots of wind speed and waves, and it was for an inspired GLADIATOR, who stood up successfully to the favorite QUANTUM RACING - who finished second after getting back into the game-and AZZURRA who scored a fourth place.

Soto 40: Two excellent races in a tight competition
The four boats have again sailed the most hard-fought race and in which virtually anything could happen until the end. BIGAMIST was who pulled it off in the end and took the first race of the day, with EARLY BIRD and a recovered BLACK PEARL on its heels. German BLACK PEARL seemed to want to recover its place at all costs and in the second race of the day finished with a victory, followed by BIGAMIST.

The J-80 races have been fully dominated by tension. In the first race of the day Carlos Martinez’s ZHIK / NOVASAIL took the lead, followed by favorite Pablo Benjumea’s PUERTO SHERRY and Agustí Atladill’s NACEX. The also favorite and current J80 World Champion, POWER FACTOR skippered by Olympic Jose María Van der Ploeg, didn’t set off on the right foot and had to abandon today’s races. ZHIK / NOVASAIL won the last race of the day, followed by HM HOTELES and MIKAKU.

The ORC class has suffered greatly in its debut. In the class ORC 1 the German Boat NOVA ELENA controlled the fleet at all times, followed by local boats VARADOR 2000 and Rafael Carbonell’s RATS ON FIRE.

In ORC 2 Malaga’s team XSPAIN led Javier Banderas and Iñaki Castañer was declared winner of the day in its class, followed by Joan Cabrer’s AIRLAN- AERMEC and by Eduardo Sanchiz and Toni Guiu’s MARINA PORT VELL- SAILING CONTROL. In ORC 3 the podium was led by Miquel Banus’ FANYTA, followed by Pedro Franco’s KH7 and Jordi Delgado’s SPRINGBOK III.

+ News

The Mediterranean Sailing Circuit presents its second edition


After the success of participants in the year of its premiere, the Mediterranean Sailing Circuit celebrates its second edition with three of the most outstanding regattas on the national scene: the Sail Racing PalmaVela (May 7-10), the Caixabank Conde de Godó Trophy (May 28 - 31) and the SM La Reina Trophy (July 2-5). The circuit has held this morning its official presentation in the framework of the Valencia Boat Show, attended by the president of the RCN Valencia, Alejandro Fliquete; the president of the RCN Palma, Javier Sanz; the commodore of the RCN Barcelona and manager of the Caixabank Conde de Godó Trophy, Marc de Antonio; the president of the Valencian Community Sailing Federation, Carlos Torrado, and the vice president of the Valencian federation and manager of the SM La Reina Trophy, Rafel Chirivella.

Bribón and Rats on Fire renew their reign in the CaixaBank Conde de Godó Trophy


Sixteenth Conde de Godó for Bribón and tenth for Rats on Fire. The two Catalan teams are the undisputed kings of the prestigious regatta organized by the Real Club Nautico de Barcelona since 1974. On the decisive day of the 46th CaixaBank Conde de Godó Trophy, the Bribón-Movistar of Marc de Antonio and Sofia Bertrand has shone with its own light in J80 to remain as the most successful team in the history of the event, while in ORC 0 -1 Rats on Fire of Rafael Carbonell has left no option for surprises. L'Immens-Laplaza Assessors of Alexandre Laplaza in ORC 2, Vertigo Dos Texia of Antonio Guasch in ORC 3-4 and the Russians New Territories and To be continued in J70 and Dragon , respectively, are the rest of the winners of this edition marked by meteorological instability.