We use own and third party cookies to improve our services. You can change the settings or get more information Cookies Policy. If you continue to browse, consider accepting its use.




Everything is ready and prepared at the RCNB to launch the 40th edition of the Conde de Godó Sailing Trophy. The first to get the action started out on the water will be the professional sailing classes

Everything is ready and prepared at the Real Club Náutico in Barcelona to launch the 40th edition of the Conde de Godó Sailing Trophy. The first to get the action started out on the water will be the professional sailing classes: the Wally, TP52s and Soto 40s who finished their last official day of training on Wednesday.  


Barcelona’s Conde de Godó Sailing Trophy marks the first event in Europe of the TP52 SuperSeries Circuit. The winner of the 39th Conde de Godó Trophy, “Quantum Racing” skippered by Ed Baird and with Barcelona-born sailor Juan Vila and the Mallorcan Jordi Calafat among the crew, will have to face another of the great favourites, the Italian-Argentinean “Azurra” skippered by Guillermo Parada with Vasco Vascotto as tactician.

The battle promises to be intense; as was clear from the official training day on Wednesday, even before the competition kicks off as Tom Wilson’s “Gladiator”, Austin Gragomen’s “Interlodge” and Nikklas Zennstrom’s “Ran” as well as Nick Rogers’ recently incorporated “Provenza” lined up alongside the two favourites. 

Performance from the ever-impressive Wally class was a little less clear, with only participation from two of the four boats registered. Mike Atkinson’s “Open Season” awarded with the knowledge of Ross MacDonald, no stranger to these waters, also includes Spanish crew members among their ranks with Marc Patiño and Mallorcan Pedro Mas. Their rival out on the water, Spaniard Alberto Palatchi’s “Galma” has a solid group of Spanish crew including Santander-born sailor Javier de la Plaza, Nacho Postigo and David Madrazo, Mallorcan sailors Rodrigo Sanz and Ignasi Triay and the Galicians Lino Pérez and Pablo Iglesias.

The Soto 40 class also enjoyed a last day of training before the Conde de Godó Sailing Trophy with a list of five boats registered: Alfonso Domingos “Bigamist” with Hugo Rocha as tactician, Stefan Jentzsch’s “Black Pearl”, Christina Nagel’s, “Early Bird” with tactician Juan Luis Paez from Cadiz, Marc de Antonio’s “Fyord”  and Jose Caldeira’s “Solete”  led by the skipper from Galicia Gonzalo Araujo.

 Joaquím Barenys, Director of the 40th Conde de Godó Trophy praised the competition,

“The Conde de Godó Trophy is in excellent health with an international fleet of both professionals and amateurs, and it has continued to build over the years.”

“The ORC class is still growing and in this edition we have 20% more boats registered. This just proves the Spanish owners’ approval of the international system, allowing their organization and participation in international competitions.”

“This fact coupled with the presence of sailing’s Formula 1 class, the TP52s, as well as the participation of some of the great legends of international sailing in the competition, is the best birthday present that we could possibly have for the 40th edition of the Conde de Godó Trophy.”


The Race Committee for the 40th Conde de Godó Sailing Trophy, directed by Vicent Cespedes, has officially presented the particularly ambitious programme of racing, with 8 races scheduled for the Wally, TP52, Soto 40 and J-80 classes and 7 for the ORC class; a maximum of three daily races for each participant. 

In the face of the impressive number of pre-inscriptions (over 70 boats) the Race Committee for the Conde de Godó Trophy has established three different areas of racing. 

+ News

The Mediterranean Sailing Circuit presents its second edition


After the success of participants in the year of its premiere, the Mediterranean Sailing Circuit celebrates its second edition with three of the most outstanding regattas on the national scene: the Sail Racing PalmaVela (May 7-10), the Caixabank Conde de Godó Trophy (May 28 - 31) and the SM La Reina Trophy (July 2-5). The circuit has held this morning its official presentation in the framework of the Valencia Boat Show, attended by the president of the RCN Valencia, Alejandro Fliquete; the president of the RCN Palma, Javier Sanz; the commodore of the RCN Barcelona and manager of the Caixabank Conde de Godó Trophy, Marc de Antonio; the president of the Valencian Community Sailing Federation, Carlos Torrado, and the vice president of the Valencian federation and manager of the SM La Reina Trophy, Rafel Chirivella.

Bribón and Rats on Fire renew their reign in the CaixaBank Conde de Godó Trophy


Sixteenth Conde de Godó for Bribón and tenth for Rats on Fire. The two Catalan teams are the undisputed kings of the prestigious regatta organized by the Real Club Nautico de Barcelona since 1974. On the decisive day of the 46th CaixaBank Conde de Godó Trophy, the Bribón-Movistar of Marc de Antonio and Sofia Bertrand has shone with its own light in J80 to remain as the most successful team in the history of the event, while in ORC 0 -1 Rats on Fire of Rafael Carbonell has left no option for surprises. L'Immens-Laplaza Assessors of Alexandre Laplaza in ORC 2, Vertigo Dos Texia of Antonio Guasch in ORC 3-4 and the Russians New Territories and To be continued in J70 and Dragon , respectively, are the rest of the winners of this edition marked by meteorological instability.