We use own and third party cookies to improve our services. You can change the settings or get more information Cookies Policy. If you continue to browse, consider accepting its use.


Rats on Fire crowned champion of the Conde de Godó Trophy for the sixth consecutive year


The 45th Conde de Godó Trophy has closed today in the waters of Barcelona, ​​in one of the most competitive and exciting editions of recent times, with the participation of 51 boats and 500 sailors from eight countries. Organized since 1974 by the Real Club Nautico de Barcelona with the support of the Godó family, what is one of the most important regattas in the Mediterranean has crowned as champion for the ninth time and sixth consecutive year Rats on Fire by Rafael Carbonell, in ORC 0-1. The winners in the other categories are also repeaters: L'Immens-Laplaza Assessors (ORC 2) gets its third victory, the same as the Vertigo Dos (ORC 3-4), while the Bribón-Movistar (J80) achieves its fourth triumph in monotypes.

The last day of competition of the 45th Conde de Godó Trophy has been played again with East medium winds of Levante, between 13 and 16 knots of intensity, and quite wavy. The entire planned program has been completed, seven races for the three ORC groups and ten for the J80.

In ORC 0-1, Rats on Fire by Rafael Carbonell has won his ninth crown of the Conde de Godó Trophy, the last six years in a row. The reign of this Swan 45 is the second most fruitful in the history of the Barcelona regatta. In the second box of this podium of honor, he replaces Lupa of César Obregón (with eight Godós, seven consecutive ones). They have still far the record of victories, which is in the hands of the Bribón of José Cusí (with a total of fifteen crowns, eleven in cruises and four in monotypes).

Rats on Fire has signed two more firsts today, thus achieving six partial wins in a total of seven races. He has outscored DK 46 Prink of Santi Monjo and Óscar Chaves in ten points, who today managed to climb two places in the general classification to take second place. The third drawer raises another DK 46, the Swiss Kajsa III by Rolf Auf Der Maur.

"It is a great satisfaction to achieve the ninth Godó and the sixth consecutive," said Rafael Carbonell. “The races are always complicated, it is not easy to win, and this year has been an especially intense and exciting edition, with wind."

In ORC 2, L'Immens-Laplaza Assessors by Alexandre Laplaza has achieved its third Conde de Godó, after the victories of 2017 and 1995. With Carles Rodríguez as skipper, the Sinergia 40 of the RCNB has been unbeatable in the waters of Barcelona, with a full of firsts in the seven races. He has won with up to seven points of revenue on the second classified, Jaime Samon’s X-41 Miaja X. The third place was for J-122 Anita by Jordi Rabassa.

In ORC 3-4, the Salona 37 Vertigo Dos by Antonio Guasch has won. The CN El Balis team takes its third title in the Conde de Godó, after those of 1998 and 2003. It has been a very competitive group during the three days of racing in the 45th Conde de Godó Trophy, but still they have been crowned winners with a six-point advantage over the second, the X-37 Airlan-Aermec from Mallorcan Juan Cabrer. The British Saiola X, owned by Vandesande Wim, completes the final podium of this category.

In J80, Bribón-Movistar of Marc de Antonio and Sofia Bertrand has today achieved its fourth title of champion in the Conde de Godó Trophy in monotype classes, after the victories of 2008 (Platú 25) and 2014 and 2017 (J80) . In total, Bribón has won 15 Godós, both in cruisers and one-design.

The team of Marc de Antonio has signed seven firsts and three seconds, winning with a six point advantage on Agustín Altadill's Nacex. Mikaku of Rosa Artigas has been third.

Organized by the Real Club Nautico de Barcelona with the collaboration of the Royal Spanish Sailing Federation and the Catalan Sailing Federation, the 45th Conde de Godó Sailing Trophy has the support of La Vanguardia, the City Council of Barcelona and the Government of Catalunya. The collaborators are Gramona, Estrella Damm, Nº3, Royal Bliss, VIP Style Magazine and Veri.

+ News

The Mediterranean Sailing Circuit presents its second edition


After the success of participants in the year of its premiere, the Mediterranean Sailing Circuit celebrates its second edition with three of the most outstanding regattas on the national scene: the Sail Racing PalmaVela (May 7-10), the Caixabank Conde de Godó Trophy (May 28 - 31) and the SM La Reina Trophy (July 2-5). The circuit has held this morning its official presentation in the framework of the Valencia Boat Show, attended by the president of the RCN Valencia, Alejandro Fliquete; the president of the RCN Palma, Javier Sanz; the commodore of the RCN Barcelona and manager of the Caixabank Conde de Godó Trophy, Marc de Antonio; the president of the Valencian Community Sailing Federation, Carlos Torrado, and the vice president of the Valencian federation and manager of the SM La Reina Trophy, Rafel Chirivella.

Bribón and Rats on Fire renew their reign in the CaixaBank Conde de Godó Trophy


Sixteenth Conde de Godó for Bribón and tenth for Rats on Fire. The two Catalan teams are the undisputed kings of the prestigious regatta organized by the Real Club Nautico de Barcelona since 1974. On the decisive day of the 46th CaixaBank Conde de Godó Trophy, the Bribón-Movistar of Marc de Antonio and Sofia Bertrand has shone with its own light in J80 to remain as the most successful team in the history of the event, while in ORC 0 -1 Rats on Fire of Rafael Carbonell has left no option for surprises. L'Immens-Laplaza Assessors of Alexandre Laplaza in ORC 2, Vertigo Dos Texia of Antonio Guasch in ORC 3-4 and the Russians New Territories and To be continued in J70 and Dragon , respectively, are the rest of the winners of this edition marked by meteorological instability.